Home  

Main Index MAIN
INDEX
Search Posts SEARCH
IN

Home: KOI Talk: Pond Water Quality:
UV light

Web Services & EcommercePurchase Printer Toner and Ink (Original and Remanufactured) Online  - Antivirus Online

First page Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 Next page Last page  View All

oorah
User

Jun 21, 2009, 2:02 AM

Post #1 of 112 (16237 views)
Shortcut
UV light Can't Post

I read a post stating that the UV light should only be used up to 4000 hours......can someone verify this....my UV light has over 17000 hours on it.....

thanks

andy

PH8
Veteran

Jun 21, 2009, 4:49 AM

Post #2 of 112 (16225 views)
Shortcut
Re: [oorah] UV light [In reply to] Can't Post

Good morning Andy,

I'm not an expert at these things, but allow me to hazard a guess. UV lights are used for many things, not just for control of unicellular algae in koi ponds. The UV light you have may light up for an average of 17,000 hours, but the fact is that they lose their effectiveness in killing unicellular algae after about 4,000 hours. I don't know the technical reason why this is so, but it is true. The fact that the UV light is still working and alight doesn't mean it is still effective for its purpose in a koi pond. Hope this helps.Smile

Cheers,
Paul

oorah
User

Jun 21, 2009, 9:26 AM

Post #3 of 112 (16216 views)
Shortcut
Re: [PH8] UV light [In reply to] Can't Post

thanks paul......will go out and buy a new UV light.....wasnt aware of the effectivness factor....thanks for your time

andy

larz1
Veteran

Jun 21, 2009, 2:40 PM

Post #4 of 112 (16199 views)
Shortcut

Most of them recommend annual replacement which is generally a good idea. I look at it this way.
If the water isn't green something must be workingCool If it is greenTongue maybe not working so goodWink

harryluhur
User

Jun 21, 2009, 5:03 PM

Post #5 of 112 (16189 views)
Shortcut

Dear Oorah,